About Us News Center Storm Center Environment Links
NC Co-ops Touchstone Government Affairs Development Community Electricity

Power Plants

NCEMC acquires the power it sells to its member cooperatives in a number of ways, including:

  • Ownership of a 61.51 percent share of the Catawba Nuclear Station's Unit 1 in York County, S.C.
  • NCEMC-owned-and-operated peaking generators on the Outer Banks: one at Buxton (15 megawatts) and the other at Ocracoke (3 megawatts)
  • Purchases from investor-owned utilities, such as Progress Energy, American Electric Power and SCANA
  • Two natural gas peak generating plants, one in Anson County, which began commercial operation in June of 2007, and another near the town of Hamlet in Richmond County began operation in December of 2007. Together, these two plants proved a combined capacity of approximately 600 megawatts.
youtube instagram facebook